{pretty, happy, funny, real} June 2, 2011

 

round button chicken           

I’m glad to participate in this round-up today.  I’ve been away from blogging for a while, not even opening up this site for days on end.  Things have seemed rather bleak around here, but this weekly event, with so many kind people, draws me back and, as it is meant to, alerts me to the good things going on in my life.  Thank you, Leila and Rosie!

I asked myself, what is there that makes me happy today?  The first thing that came to mind was breakfast porridge.  Here’s a look into the jar of homemade mix: flakes of barley, wheat, rye, and oats.

And here is the finished product, with banana, raisins, and cinnamon added before cooking.

Next, the Liturgy of the Hours.  This keeps me hanging on.  I cannot recommend it highly enough. (Picture was taken a while back; not today’s prayers.)  Ricardo and I say Morning Prayer while our porridge cooks, and somehow the timing is just right!

In the {real} category, a picture of the shirt that was stained while making pea soup.  Remember this?  All the stains came out!  And that makes me happy, too.

But today, the thing that has me grinning from ear to ear, is this:  the Vancouver Canucks won the first game of the Stanley Cup playoffs!!

 
 

 

 

1 of 33

  • Vancouver Canucks celebrate Raffi Torres's game winning goal during the third period of game one of the Stanley Cup final playoff hockey action in Vancouver June 1, 2011. (John Lehmann/The Globe and Mail)
    (John Lehmann/The Globe and Mail)

    Vancouver Canucks celebrate Raffi Torres’s game winning goal during the third period of game one of the Stanley Cup final playoff hockey.

  • Canucks fans
This entry was posted in Pretty Happy Funny Real. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to {pretty, happy, funny, real} June 2, 2011

  1. Lisa G. says:

    Glad you found something to post about – the cereal mixture looks good! And so does the white shirt!!

  2. Leila says:

    I love that your post has the liturgy of the hours AND the Canucks! My kinda gal (though there was some heartbreak here in Bruins territory).

    • bookgetaway says:

      Your comment made me smile! Sorry about the heartbreak, though. I’m not crazy about hockey in general (too much fighting nowadays), but the Canucks have been a terrific team this year, so I’m now on board.

Leave a Reply

