{pretty, happy, funny, real} May 19, 2011

We’ve been very busy dealing with medical details, errands, and changing over from winter to spring, and my poor blog has suffered as a result.  I hope this week’s edition of Leila and Rosie’s get-together will get it back on track!

                                                 IMG_8896-3

Let’s start with the PRETTY–as a way of easing into things.  This is the first bloom on the Nelly Moser clematis, and isn’t it lovely?  You can see there are some other buds waiting to open.  It has taken this long for the weather to begin to warm up around here.

This is my contribution to FUNNY.  The Tiger Eyes Sumac went through the winter with two bare stems and nothing else, but now its first leaves are emerging.  Eventually they will be long feathery branches, but right now they look so gawky!  These make me laugh every time they catch my eye.

My last photos–well, they sort of cover HAPPY and FUNNY and REAL.  Happy, because I’ve been trying to find time to make a big batch of split pea soup with ham, and I finally got to it.  A double recipe, about 5 quarts, so now I have plenty in the freezer!

BUT…you know how, when split pea soup is simmering, it can send up a big bloop from its depths?  Well, I had the ladle in there, checking  it out, when a massive bloop somehow escaped from the pot and plastered itself across my chest!  Funny and real!  Here’s the shirt I was wearing, and you can see the spots left from the bloop.  They’re being treated with my never-fail spot remover, which I’ll tell you about in a minute.  First, check out the shirt.

It was quite the bloop, as you can see!  However, not even on the same scale as what happened to my mother, making pea soup in her pressure cooker, when a phone call distracted her from her cooking, the pressure cooker blew off its gasket, and the pea soup was plastered on the ceiling, walls, and cabinets.  So, you see, there is a little family history here.

Anyway, I was going to tell you about my excellent spot remover, which works particularly well on grease spots.  It’s called Grandma’s Secret Spot Remover and comes in a very little bottle, only 2 oz, and you squeeze it out one drop at a time.  It claims to be environmentally safe, and has a whole list of stains it supposedly works on.  I’ve only used it on oily or greasy spots, and blood spots, but I really rely on it.  I buy it in quilt shops or fabric stores.  Oh, I should tell you that it says to wait 5-10 minutes before washing, and you really do have to do that.  In fact, I find that it works best if you leave it in overnight, or even a couple of days.  Sounds crazy, I know, but I have brought shirts and pants back from the dead with it.  And the little bottle lasts a long time.  (BTW, I have no contact with the company and what I’ve said is completely unsolicited. I guess nowadays people get paid to push products, so I have to say that.)

Thanks so much for stopping by!  It’s a long weekend here in Canada, and I hope yours is sunny and happy!

This entry was posted in Pretty Happy Funny Real and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to {pretty, happy, funny, real} May 19, 2011

  1. Deirdre says:

    Beautiful flowers! The sunshine on the vine is so appealing!

  2. Lisa G. says:

    You know, I didn’t think I’d be wanting pea soup any more till fall, but with the weather we’ve been having, that sounds pretty good, even in May!

  3. Beth says:

    Thanks for the tip on the stain remover! I saw it at the fabric store a few months back and it looked interesting (and cheap) but I didn’t pick any up because I have a gallon container of a different brand sitting in my laundry room 😉

    I love split pea soup, love love love it. I live in Gerogia and soup season is short, too short, so I don’t get to make it as often as I used to. Thanks for sharing your pictures!

  4. Mrs. Fordyce says:

    Hooray for soup in the freezer! It is so nice to have on hand, and even though it is May, it is still cold enough here for soup! I will definitely be looking for the stain remover, as myself and four of the six children get nosebleeds! Thank you!

  5. Abby says:

    Love the notion of a gawky plant! I’ll have to look for that stain remover as I am prone to bloops myself.

  6. Mamabear, JD says:

    Thanks for the recommendation on that stain remover…I wonder about it every time I’m having fabric cut! Will have to check that out for sure.

  7. Holly says:

    Yumm! Split pea soup is my favorite, but the rest of the house, not so much. Sorry about the shirt, but I am sure it was worth it 🙂

  8. Dusa says:

    I always wondered about the spot remover! Thanks for the recommendation!

  9. jaykaym says:

    AH! the “secret” spot remover. I have some of that too but I must not let it sit long enough because I haven’t been as successful as you have been. Today I used it to remove spots from strawberries on my nice white t-shirt. No luck. BUT I did try pouring boiling water through the spot and it worked like magic! So for cotton or sturdy fabric, I’m sharing my boiling water method with you. Boil a lot of water. Put the fabric over a bowl so the water can run through it and pour from about 12 inches above the fabric. It really does work. And I’ll be less impatient with Grandma’s next time.

Leave a Reply

