{pretty happy funny real} April 28, 2011

This week has been full of ups and downs, but mostly downs, due to Ricardo’s increasing weakness.  For a long time I have refused to worry about what might be ahead for us, and rightly so, because I know for sure that worrying does no good, and I have confidence that God is carrying us.  Now we seem to be at the point where things are changing enough that we have to consider other options–maybe we can no longer get by just as we are.  What other options might there be for us?  What changes might we have to make?  What will be the most helpful for Ricardo right now?

Serious, right?  Well, let me introduce you to one of our coping mechanisms.

{happy}

 Vietnamese coffee.  A rich dark-roasted French coffee is used.  Here is the little drip section that fits on top of the cup, coffee grounds sandwiched under the top plate, after the water has dripped through.  (Photos taken at our favourite pho restaurant)

Here I’m showing you the sweetened condensed milk which is put first into the bottom of the cup.  Careful and thorough stirring is necessary to mix it together with the coffee.  This step allows for consideration of the excellent aroma, and anticipation of the flavour to come.

The well-stirred cup.  At this point, if you prefer your coffee hot, you can add hot water from the small carafe provided.  Or…

………pour your blend over ice, and sip through a straw.  Share with your sweetie, and feel the caffeine coursing through your veins.  The flavour is rich and strong, your taste buds are all alive, and all you can think about for a little while is how darn good it tastes.  Exchange awed remarks with your sweetie about what a good brew it is this time.  Be self-sacrificing, and let him or her have the last sip.  Talk over some good times that come to mind, discuss an interesting article or book, or decide who should be voted off the reality show you watched last night.  Enjoy the moment.

                                                 round button chicken

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to {pretty happy funny real} April 28, 2011

  1. Holly says:

    Oh, my! That looks delicious!

  2. TessaDiane says:

    Once, back my husband had only been married about a year, he contracted a job to remodel a house. We “camped out” in the house as we did the work. Anyway, we had to buy a few simple food items to get us by. Of those items purchased were coffee and sweetened condensed milk. It was so tasty. I should buy a can again just to remind my husband of that time.

  3. yummy- I love Vietnamese food

  4. Ginger says:

    I am visting from LMLD. Yes that equates to happiness in my home too!

    I lost my father about a year ago, and it was so painful to watch him go, as he was in so much pain.

    Psalm 126 was ever on my mind…

    Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negeb! Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.

    I love how the LORD considers our tears, seeds of joy.

  5. Debbie says:

    I just offered up a prayer on your behalf. I prayed for His peace in your hard time. Enjoy your coffee. It looks delicious and sometimes simple pleasures are just what we need to cope…

    Blessings, Debbie

  6. This is my first time to visit your blog; I’ve come via Like Mother, Like Daughter. I wanted to thank you for sharing your story, and your photos. I will keep you and your husband in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

