{pretty, happy, funny, real}

                                                 IMG_8896-3

I’m joining in with this new get-together from Like Mother, Like Daughter for Thursdays.  Thank you, Leila and Rosie!

Today, though, what I have fits more in the category of Going to be Pretty, with some Funny and some Real in there too.  It’s a work in progress, and all the progress so far has been made by our son-in-law. 

 Our new condo (it’s still new to us, even though we’ve been here a year now) has a balcony off the bedroom, and I’ve been thinking I would love to have some clematis vines blooming and twining on the wall that I see when I rise from bed.  So I made a trip to the garden center in search of a trellis, but found nothing suitable.  After a phone consultation with my gardening expert,  Ricardo’s sister in Portland, we came up with the solution – a trellis to be made by Sean!  Here is everything, ready to go.

Getting the bones of the structure in place.

Sean likes to be precise in his work.

This picture gives more of a view of the corner that will be so lovely.

Sean’s work completed!  To give you the proper perspective, our vertical laths are 8 feet, and Sean is over 6 feet.  I thought I’d like to plan big,  Why waste space at the top?  Let those vines go as high as they want!  Of course, I realized the next day that the planting box I had bought was too small for plants I wanted to be reaching that high.  So now I must return to the garden centre and get a good big-size box.  And then Sean will need to detach and reattach the trellis.  But then I can plant my lovelies and get them going!  I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Pretty Happy Funny Real and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to {pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. This will look beautiful, great idea!

  2. Leila says:

    What an awesome trellis! Everything is two steps forward one step back, right? 🙂
    I love that you thought big!

  3. I love clematis climbing vines!! Thanks for sharing that you had to go back for a different size box– that sounds like me! Not planning precisely, unlike my husband who is a better project planner than me! Can’t wait to see those flowers growing there.

  4. What beauty you will see out that window. Tell your honey he is a good, good man!

    Blessings, Debbie

  5. Mary says:

    This looks so lovely. Way to go. I can’t wait to see the pictures of flowers blooming! Well done!!

  6. Layla says:

    What a great idea! That will be SO pretty when the flowers come in.

Leave a Reply

