Poetry Friday – Dirge Without Music

                                                           
 
 
As always, I am happy to see Poetry Friday come around.  This week, though, I want to pay tribute to the terrible suffering of the  people of Japan by including this poem of mourning by Edna St. Vincent Millay.
 
 
                                         Dirge Without Music 
 
I am not resigned to the shutting away of loving hearts in the hard ground.
So it is, and so it will be, for so it has been, time out of mind:
Into the darkness they go, the wise and the lovely. Crowned
With lilies and laurel they go, but I am not resigned.
 
Lovers and thinkers, into the earth with you.
Be one with the dull, the indiscriminate dust.
A fragment of what you felt, of what you knew,
A formula, a phrase remains — but the best is lost.
 
The answers quick and keen, the honest look, the laughter, the love, —
They are gone.  They are gone to feed the roses.  Elegant and curled
Is the blossom.  Fragrant is the blossom.  I know.  But I do not approve.
More precious was the light in your eyes than all the roses in the world.
 
Down, down, down into the darkness of the grave.
Gently they go, the beautiful, the tender, the kind.
Quietly they go, the intelligent, the witty, the brave.
I know.  But I do not approve.  And I am not resigned.
 
 
  

 

This entry was posted in Poetry Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Poetry Friday – Dirge Without Music

  1. Tabatha says:

    Thank you. This poem is worth repeated readings.

  2. Carlie says:

    Oh! I love that. What a beautiful tribute.

    I confess to knowing Edna’s name but not much of her’s besides how her candle “gives a lovely light.” I will have to expose myself to a broader sample.

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thanks for reading, Carlie. I’ve just checked out your very interesting blog, and I know I will have to have another, longer visit.

      Millay – yes, she has done some very wothwhile stuff. This is one of my favourites of hers. I’m glad you liked it too.

  3. Dena Aicklen says:

    very good post, i actually love this web site, carry on it

  4. Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this website wants rather more consideration. I’ll in all probability be again to learn rather more, thanks for that info.

  5. Bobbie Rae says:

    Lovely, true poem. I do not care for the current trend of “celebration of life” at a funeral. Yes, we do that but by trying to deny the death and the loss, we devalue the grief being suffered by those left behind.

Leave a Reply

