Challenge to Service Week 8

My husband has continued to feel very weak, and I’m getting more and more concerned.  Whenever he has felt better, I hoped that it was the beginning of a turnaround, but that has not happened.  We have an appointment with our family doctor for tomorrow, and I hope that he will be able to begin the process of looking for what is going on with Ricardo.

In the meantime, I’ll report on my response to the challenge to patient service.  I have found the practice of quickly drawing the sign of the cross on my palm to be very useful, particularly when I’m waiting for Ricardo to answer a question or to pray his part in Morning or Evening Prayer.  Sometimes it takes him quite a while, and this small reminder keeps me conscious of seeing Christ in his person.

In the next little while, I want to copy a custom passed on to me by a blogger who also has a husband prone to serious illness: massaging the feet.  She mentioned that this was a means of connection, physical connection, at a time of severe illness, and I think that Ricardo would like it very much.   I have begun reading to him, something he has always enjoyed, and that gives us a connection through the subject matter of the book.

He’s calling for me right now to watch with him a DVD series on St. Teresa of Avila, so I’ll just end by thanking you for reading.  I ask for your prayers for me and for the other women who are joining me in this challenge.  If you would like to take this on, perhaps as a sacrifice for Lent, please leave a comment so that we can support each other in this undertaking.

God our Father, bless us as we struggle to serve with patience, and lead us closer and closer to you.  Amen.

This entry was posted in Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge to Service Week 8

  1. Rhonda (aka Miz Hatbox) says:

    Oh dear. I’m so sorry that he is feeling weaker. I hope the doctor finds something fixable.

    I’m glad that you found a way to remind yourself to be patient (and pass the time in a meaningful fashion during that moment of waiting).

    Thinking of you both.

Leave a Reply

