Doing the 7 Quick Takes Dance #4

          

7 quick takes sm1 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 114)        

End of the week again!  But for those of us who are retired, that once much-desired weekend tends to fade into insignificance (with the exception of Sunday Mass, of course).  Anyway, participating in 7 Quick Takes on Fridays gives the week a nice shape for me.  Thanks for reading my blog!

1.  This week has been a flurry of  careful cross-checking to see which roles can be doubled, consideration of whom to assign to various roles, and getting the scripts and information to all our Catholic book club members.  (We’re celebrating our second anniversary with a dramatic reading of A Man For All Seasons.)  I’ll get the last script handed out on Saturday, and then get serious about having a look at my own parts; I’m reading as King Henry VIII and some smaller roles.  Should be such fun!

Product Details

2.  Is it possible to love my kobo e-reader more?  I keep downloading books for free, as I think of something else I would like to have.  My latest have been a book of poems of Emily Dickinson, St. Teresa of Avila’s Autobiography, and George Eliot’s Middlemarch, a book that used to be my constant answer to the “what book would you want on a desert island?” question. 

3.  Just to show you how much I’m loving the e-reader, last night in bed (it’s so good for in-bed reading because it’s very light and easy to maneuver) I started out reading a short section from the Canterbury Tales, a section from one of Blessed Newman’s Plain and Parochial Sermons, and then a chapter of St. Teresa.  Easy-peasy.

4.  This popped into my head this morning.

          A streaky sunrise

          Of pink and blue

          And all my snowy mountains showing clear

          Melts into gold as I gaze south

          And mist rises over the inlet.

5.  Who is so foolish nowadays as to iron?  I’m not crazy to spend time on ironing when I could be doing something much more enjoyable, such as reading.  And yet…I love to have my tablecloths and napkins looking crisp.  And the new sheets I bought to coordinate with the colours in the bedroom come out of the dryer looking all crumpled; it offends me a little to put my head down on a crumpled pillowcase at night, so now I iron the pillowcases and the top fold-down edge of the sheet.  When I was little, my mother started me ironing on tea towels, progressing to pillowcases, and then all the way to my dad’s shirts,  but I swear I will not ever again iron a tea towel.  I have to admit, though, that I am thinking of using spray starch on those darn pillowcases.  Ironing turns out to be a slippery slope.

6.  Instead of ironing my Christmas placemats so I can get them put away, I’ve been watching a terrific DVD series with Ricardo, St. Teresa of Avila, available from Ignatius Press.  It was made in the 1980’s for Spanish tv and has English subtitles.  We borrowed this from our pastor, but we love it so much we’re going to buy our own copy.

7.  Here in Canada, we’ve been fortunate enough to see a series called Jean Vanier at 80, half-hour segments showing the man who started L’Arche (permanent homes for the developmentally disabled) in conversation on such topics as aging, community, serving others, and death.  Many believe him to be a saint, and I’m certainly one of them.  We’ve recorded and saved the episodes, and I look forward to steeping myself in what he has to say.   The stack of ironing gets higher.

This entry was posted in Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

