Seven Quick Takes Friday

7 quick takes sm1 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 111)

 

I would like to try the 7 Quick Takes for Friday, but I don’t know if I have enough stuff happening or thoughts in my head.  I’ll give it a try.

1

I made a great discovery last night.  It does not take away any of the deliciousness of macaroni and cheese if you add in bits of well-roasted yam before serving.  Beautiful orange gems taste really good in the cheese sauce, you get the nutritional value and fiber of the yam, and the dish still ranks as the best of comfort food.  Just throw the yam, rolled in a bit of olive oil, in the oven about an hour and a quarter before you’re going to need it.  That’s it, until it is yielding when you touch it.  Cut it into bits or just fork some out, then add to the already-prepared mac and cheese.  So good!

2

I’m going to be a little sad next week, going back to the Ordinary Time book of the Liturgy of the Hours.  I love the Advent book, with all its special antiphons and readings for Morning and Evening Prayer.  I always look forward to using it.  Lent will be coming before too long, though, and that has a special book as well. 

3

I’ve been waiting for Epiphany to take down the Christmas decorations and the creche.  Guess I’d better get on to doing that.  It’s been really nice to see the old decorations in our new place.  But I must get on with the year.  Almost time to start thinking about gardening!

4

Ricardo and I have our 46th wedding anniversary coming up in a few days.  I’d kind of forgotten about it.  I think I have an idea of a nice restaurant he would enjoy this year.  Better make some plans.  Forty-six years.  It truly doesn’t seem that long.  In an amazing coincidence, Thursday night on Oregon Field Guide on PBS, there was a segment on Bagby Hot Springs, a place we went for our first date.  Seeing that left us full of nostalgia.

5

I’m loving my Kobo e-reader.  It’s so handy to tote around with me, and its lightness is particularly nice.  Maybe it’s because I’m old, but some books are just so unwieldy and heavy, especially for reading in bed, whereas the e-reader is just perfect for that.  I’m glad I got it!

6

Ricardo and I were out today running errands, and I realized how fortunate we are to have warm clothes and shoes for the winter weather.  I even have boots for snow and another pair for rain.  Scarves and gloves make a big difference, too.   There are too many people who look cold and wet.

7

The main dish for our Friday supper can be pulled from the freezer!  I love it when I can use one of my soups or stews from the freezer and don’t have to fuss about what to fix for dinner.  Friday’s supper will be Two-Lentil Soup with fresh homemade bread and a beet salad.  And this leaves me time and oven space to make some bread for Sarah and Sean.  They enjoy having homemade bread for weekend breakfasts.  I feel rather organized!

And I made it to #7!  Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Quick Takes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seven Quick Takes Friday

  1. I’ve been toying with purchasing an ereader too. I couldn’t justify the expense of the reader, plus the cost for books I would have otherwise gotten from the library. I just found out recently though that our library is going to start loaning out ebooks which I can download from home! There might just be an ereader in my near future now. 😀

    • bookgetaway says:

      Hi Michelle, thanks for commenting! I finally got my e-reader when my library recommended it as very good for the books it has for downloading, and then when I went to the website, it said that the Kobo came with 100 classic books pre-loaded. That made the decision for me! I don’t intend to buy books, unless it’s something I need for our Catholic book club, because there are so many free books available! I can heartily recommend it.

  2. Kathleen says:

    #3–I’m starting to think about the garden, too. Isn’t that fun?

    #4–congratulations! We just had a 40th party for my parents this past August, and it was wonderful to be able to honor them. Enjoy yourselves!

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thanks for commenting, and thanks for the congratulations. Yes, I love to start thinking about what I might plant this year. Since our move I only have a balcony garden, but I do have three balconies!

  3. Catherine says:

    Hi Judy! I browsed onto your seven quick takes after coming home from tonight’s book club meeting. 🙂 I must remark on what a small e-world we have – Jennifer F’s “Conversion Diary” is one of my favorite blogs to read! (Aside: Yup, e-readers are fantastic! One could go back and forth between two books or more without lugging several different ones around!)

    Thanks again for having us sit in tonight!

    God bless,
    Catherine

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thank you for reading my blog, Catherine! And for me as well, Conversion Diary is one of my most favourites.

      I was wondering, if you would be willing to tell me, what were you looking for when you decided to come to the book club meeting? And what did you find? Or give me your impressions. If you would prefer, you could e-mail me instead of writing here. My asking these questions is merely a desire for improvement. It would be very useful to get the feedback from someone who is not an insider.

      I was very glad to meet you and Maria, although I wish there had been time for a chance to chat and get to know you a little. If you ever want to come again, please feel free to do so.

Leave a Reply

