A Golden Loaf of Five-grain Bread

I just baked another loaf of this very delicious bread, and since I’ve worked over the recipe and, to my mind, perfected it, I’ll share it with all of you who enjoy using your bread machine.   I always have a container full of the mixed grains, since we use them every morning for our porridge – flaked rye, wheat, barley, oats, kamut (see Slow-cooked cereal, in the What I’m Cooking section above), so I just dip into that for the first ingredient.

FIVE GRAIN BREAD

Put the ingredients into your pan in the following order:

1 cup mixed 5 grains (or you can substitute flaked oats)

1 2/3 cups buttermilk

3 T honey

1/2 t. salt

2 T butter

3 cups white bread flour (can substitute multigrain for 2 cups)

2 t. bread machine yeast

I set my machine to do all the kneading and rising, then I remove the dough, form it into a loaf on a floured board, put it into a bread pan, cover with a tea towel and let it have a little rising time to recover (not more than 15 minutes), and bake in a preheated oven at 375o for 45 minutes.

Let me know what your favourite bread recipes are!  I never bake the bread in the bread machine, but it’s certainly wonderful to have the machine do all the hard work.

This entry was posted in Holidailies, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Golden Loaf of Five-grain Bread

  1. Judy says:

    My favorite bread recipes are from either Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day or Healthy Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day. I’ve never owned a bread machine. You MUST try this book’s technique – delicious!

Leave a Reply

