Gratitude

These days after Christmas have been full of blessing and a quiet happiness.  I don’t know how much is attributable to the joy of being settled in our new condo, and how much is due to my depression really being gone, but I know that all is from the hand of God.  I’ll start, for the first time here, counting my one thousand gifts.  This is inspired by Ann Voskamp.

1. making my mother-in-law’s Christmas cookies,  seeing Ricardo and Sarah enjoy them

2. finding that all the important family ornaments fit on the new little Christmas tree

3. having family dinners three nights in a row with Sarah and Sean

4. being able to relax completely today

5. having this new journal spark so many old memories, precious ones of past Christmases 

6. forging an even closer connection with my sis-in-law through e-mail

7. seeing that Ricardo is back to being able to get into bed successfully

8. knowing that I have Ricardo’s support in all I do

For these and so many other graces, I thank you, Lord.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidailies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Angela says:

    Oh, I love your gratitude list, and I love the name of your blog. That’s so relevant to most of us in one way or another.

    I love and enjoy a lot of the things you mentioned in the gratitude list.

    I’m still trying to find “important” family ornaments. We’ve moved and lost stuff so much until my children, sadly, haven’t experienced that. Maybe next year will be different.

    Thanks

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Angela. Just now I had a quick peek at your blog, and it looked beautiful. I have bookmarked it and will have a good look through it this afternoon. I hope to get to know you a little through it. Have a blessed day.

  2. Cherry says:

    Visiting from the “A Holy Experience” link … and noticing someone else who is “over 60” (I am just barely over). Not many in our age category who are blogging, so it was fun to see your entry. I started counting my “1000 Gifts” the beginning of November. Welcome … and enjoy!

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Cherry. Yes, like you I find it a treat to see a grandma’s blog! I always enjoy reading the blogs of the young mothers, but have thought it would be helpful and sustaining to read the words of someone who is closer to my situation. I will take some time to read through your blog this afternoon, and perhaps you and I can have some communication in this way. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

