Unbelievably Good Cranberry Sauce – Save This Recipe

Colander

Image via Wikipedia

I know that for most of you this recipe comes too late for this year, but I’m posting it because you will want to have it when the holidays come around next year.  Yes, it’s that good!  Believe me, print this out and save it if you want to wow the people around your next turkey dinner table.  (This is based, with changes, on a recipe from epicurious.com.  Feel free to increase or lower the amount of sugar based on your own preferences for sweet/tart balance–it will not spoil the result, which, I repeat, is fantastic.)

CRANBERRY SAUCE WITH PORT AND CINNAMON

  • 1 cup Port
  • 2 cinnamon sticks, broken in half
  • 1 cup dried cranberries (about 6 oz)
  • 1 12-oz bag fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 3/4 cup orange juice 
  • 2/3 cup sugar

Bring Port and cinnamon sticks to boil in medium saucepan.  Reduce heat to medium and simmer 5 mins.

Add dried cranberries to saucepan, simmer about 5 minutes.  Add fresh or frozen cranberries, orange juice and sugar; bring to boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Reduce heat to medium low; cover and simmer until sauce is thickened, darker in colour, and berries have collapsed, stirring often, around 30 mins.  Transfer sauce to bowl, discard cinnamon sticks.

DO AHEAD:  Can be made 3 days ahead.  Cover and chill.  Bring to room temperature before serving.

 

       

This entry was posted in Holidailies, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unbelievably Good Cranberry Sauce – Save This Recipe

  1. Sally Thomas says:

    Sounds fabulous. I stock up my freezer with fresh cranberries while they’re available, so we can continue to enjoy them even when the season’s past. Anything but anything with port sounds good to me.

    And your blog is lovely!

    • bookgetaway says:

      Thanks for reading and for commenting. In our old house, I had a big chest-type freezer and used to stock up on cranberries myself. Now in our little condo, I have to save what little freezer room I have for homemade broths and soups. I love our new place very much, but I do miss my freezer and our wonderful library of books, almost all gone.

      Thanks for the compliment on my blog. I think yours is lovely too, and I’ve bookmarked it so I can follow along. See you there!

Leave a Reply

