Loving the Latin

I grew up Catholic during the forties and fifties.  The Latin Mass was what I experienced as a child and I knew it was beautiful.  Understanding was not a problem;  I had a little Mass book (received at my First Communion) that explained what was happening and translated the Latin into English.  I sang in school choirs and the parish choir, learning Gregorian chant and the Latin words for the sung parts of the Mass, easily memorizing everything because I was young.

All the above is background to explain what I experienced today.  My parish, St. Jude’s, sings the parts of the Mass in Latin, and today as I stood for the Credo, heard the choir begin “Credo in unum Deum”,  and joined in with “Patrem omnipotentem, factorem caeli et terrae”, I saw myself as a kid in the choir loft of Sacred Heart in Portland, and in the high school choir at St. Mary’s preparing to sing at the Graduation Mass, and as a pilgrim in procession at Lourdes, singing in Latin along with an enormous group of people from other countries. 

yearbook photo, St. Mary's Academy

I don’t know quite how to put it, but I felt the Latin as a thread through my life, drawing the early parts together with my life as it is now, bringing an ancient beauty into the present.  I am so grateful for it.  I am so happy to be a part of a church with a history that goes back thousands of years.  I am nearly ready for Christmas.

This entry was posted in Advent, Christmas, Holidailies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

