First Cookies of Christmas

I haven’t made cookies at Christmas for years, preferring to go crazy at Valley Bakery and get lots of different kinds and forego the fuss of, like, actually baking.  This year, perhaps inspired by my new kitchen, I decided to plunge into cookie madness.

The above cookies are from epicurious.com, a combo of semisweet chocolate chips, milk chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, cranberries, and some good old flaked oatmeal.  I’m pleased with them, although when I bite into those chocolate chips and…something, which turns out to be the oatmeal, I keep thinking it ought to be bits of walnut.  Guess I was imprinted from past choc chip cookies.  Sarah says they’re delicious.

Next, I’ll try some of my mother-in-law’s best Christmas cookie recipes.  Do you have cookie traditions?

This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidailies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Cookies of Christmas

  1. For the past twelve weeks, my little girls and I have been going through my mother’s Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook she received as a wedding present in 1959. We have been baking one cookie each week and testing out some vintage recipes. My taste testers have been seven children who range in ages 3-10. It has been a lot of fun, and not too overwhelming.

  2. Miz_hatbox says:

    I like baking gingerbread with my daughter in the winter time.

    Actually any dough activity that involves rolling and cutting shapes–dumplings, cookies–feels wonderfully companionable. My grandmother had scores of recipes that could be made into two-person projects for when we grandchildren came by: blintzes (with a filling to mix and a crepe to make and fill, roll up and fry), spanikopita triangles, kreplach (a sort of Jewish wanton), pierogies. Chocolate “finger” cookies that you baked, and then once they dipped both ends into chocolate and then nuts. Stuffed cabbage.

    When she was just cooking on her own she tended to make mandel bread, a sort of biscotti that she made by heart. I suppose it’s my turn to learn the recipe, but the smell summons her too much. The only cure, of course, is to make it over and over again until it doesn’t anymore, but I’m not sure I have the heart for that yet. Instead I make gingerbread, which Grandma never made. It’s almost easier that way.

Leave a Reply

