7 Quick Takes – Friday March 30

                            7 quick takes sm1 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 168)

I don’t know if I’ll make it to seven takes today, but I’m just going to dash in and see how far I get!

ONE – I’m extremely pleased that yesterday I made some really good egg salad sandwiches!  Ricardo and I love egg salad sandwiches, but for a long time (maybe forever, I can’t remember back that far) the ability to cut up the egg without making a complete mess of it was beyond me.  The yolk would get mashed, the white would be uneven, with too many large bits, and the look of the whole thing was–let’s just say, not good.  But then, TaDa!  Some months ago I acquired a convincing-looking egg dicer from, of all places, a gardening store.  I stuck it in a basket in a cabinet and promptly forgot it.  But a week ago I ran across it and stuck it on a countertop so I would remember to hard-boil some eggs.  Yesterday was the day.  I boiled the eggs at breakfast, put them in the fridge to get nice and cold, and at lunch assembled the eggs, mayo, mustard, green onions, and pepper.  The chopping device has three levels.  The bottom one has an elevated platform to put the egg, then you can bring down a wire screen to cut it crossways, or bring down two screens to cut crossways and lengthwise.  Brilliant, efficient, and it’s easy to clean, too!  Specialty tools too often don’t work, but this one is a keeper.

TWO – It took eight days after the breast MRI, but today I woke up to an absence of pain, and to feeling like my old self again.  It was a nasty week and a bit, with pain day and night, and feeling as though I had to drag myself through each day.   I sure hope I never have to have that particular test again.

THREE – I have a favourite web site that has been helping to distract me during this time of getting used to having breast cancer.  At newyorker.com, you can click on a jigsaw puzzle game and get one of  hundreds and hundreds of covers of The New Yorker magazine from over the years.  It gets cut in pieces, and then you reassemble it while a timer is running.  Generally it takes me under five minutes to play, but for me, a big part of the enjoyment is admiring the cover and trying to figure out if it is referring to or satirizing a particular event, or celebrating the season of the year, or just expressing an artist’s interest.  The covers go back to the 1920’s, and it’s very interesting to see the clothes and scenes depicted from those long-ago times.  Sometimes I find that I’m imagining myself in a seaside scene, or gazing up a road lined with trees in full autumn blaze.  The game is a great place to spend a little time.

That’s all I have time for now.  Thanks for reading, and thanks to Jen Fulwiler for hosting.  If I don’t see you before then, have a blessed Easter!

This entry was posted in Quick Takes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Friday March 30

  1. jen says:

    I will have to check out the New Yorker site. My parents took the magazine for years and there are some covers from them hung as pictures in my parents’ bathroom and in their bedroom.

  2. jen says:

    I will have to check out the website for the New Yorker. My parents took the magazine for years and there are a few covers that my mom has made into wall hangings with some modge podge.

  3. jaykaym says:

    OK, I just tried the New Yorker jigsaw puzzle and am now addicted, and I don’t even LIKE jigsaw puzzles. You didn’t tell us the best part – that once we solve it we can read the magazine! I must admit it took me over 15 minutes to solve the level 1 puzzle (I told you I wasn’t good at this!) so I am very impressed with your 5 minute timeframe. It was great fun and I can see that it would be a great distractor. I’ll have to show it to my friend who is also on her breast cancer journey. Thanks!

    • bookgetaway says:

      jaykaym, I definitely don’t do regular jigsaws, but this particular site is just fun for me! So glad you enjoyed it too! About the timing, remember that I’ve been doing these for quite a while now, so I sort of know how it goes, and I sort the pieces as I go along. Anyway, thanks for letting me know you tried it and liked it. You put a smile on my face.

  4. jaykaym says:

    Just checking in and hoping that you are doing ok. Wanted to let you know that someone was thinking of you.
    Namaste.

  5. jaykaym says:

    Still thinking of you and sending prayers.
    Namaste.

  6. jaykaym says:

    Prayers to you and Ricardo.
    Namaste

  7. Teri in VA says:

    Praying you and Ricardo have a blessed Advent season. I have enjoyed your blog and miss your voice. :)

Leave a Reply

